TheGoldSovereign Community is a newly created set of forums, focused solely on the passion of collecting. Currently we are in BETA so make your suggestions known in the relevant forum!

Branch mint half sovereign

Foster

Hi all,

I’m just looking for some advice or clarity I suppose. Half sovereigns aren’t really my thing but I like them none the less.

I’ve recently bought an 1897 Sydney Mint half sovereign and the latest Marsh book is confusing, at least to me regarding this coin. I know this is listed as R3 in the latest (2021) version of Marsh which is telling in how few have been sold through various auctions.

It’s listed as ‘Marsh 503’ can anyone explain or help me to understand the description and is this really as rare ‘R3’ as it is described?

As you can see, half sovereigns aren’t my main focus and my knowledge reflects that.

• Like 1

Afternoon!

I am by no means an expert on branch mint halves! I have consider branching out (forgive the pun) to collect these little beauties but stopped myself because I need to first complete my London coins first! However, I can answer some points below.

First though, I must admit that I have the fairly easy to come by 1925 and 1926 SA halves. Two recent versions in beautiful condition were sent to PCGS for restoration last month so can update on those if there is interest! So I have already started to not just think outside of London…..

As for the 1897 Sydney, this is what I can see from my books and other brief research:

1. Marsh First Edition (see pic) confirms ‘Not known’. Published in 1982.

5F540D28-9E4E-4BE5-BD91-4950C85A44A5.thumb.jpeg.2ff7b750512c067c20d6c4dd14080e1b.jpeg

2. Marsh Second Edition (see pic) confirms ‘Not known’. Published 2004.

B7CCF962-6496-4331-826B-995964CA4E2E.thumb.jpeg.dde50accb1ecfe000d022a430417600a.jpeg

3. Marsh/Hill ‘The Gold Sovereign’ (see pic) confirms three possible versions 503, 503A and 503B (Proof). Published 2021.